New – Try it!

Today I ran my first X-Country race.

When I was looking for a race it was the only one available in February that worked for my timing. There were two distances to choose from 4km and 8km. Of course I was interested in the 8km one however Michelle was signing up with me and she convinced me that the 4km would be a good distance, she was right (don’t tell her:)).

The day was great the race didn’t start until noon and the temperature had warmed up to a balmy -2 degrees. Much better than the -29 Friday started out at!

The race was down at the sailing club and we were running the weaselhead. Since it was x-country we were not running on the pathways. We started out on a path about 8 inches across through the snow. Passing people was hard when you tried to the snow beside the path was untouched and a good foot deep. Not that passing people was really important running on uneven snow and in a strong wind is hard. I was breathing like I hadn’t done cardio in years.

We ran through the snow for about a km and then we headed down towards the reservoir where the trails are. I had no idea the trails were so beautiful off of the bike path. It was so quiet and beautiful in the trees. I will definitely be running there again. We went up and down hills the footing was never even and you had to work at every step. To say I was excited to see the guy that said 8km straight ahead or 4km was up the hill! I was like yeah!

It took me 25:11 to finish. The 4km was more like a 6 or 7km run on straight road and I used every muscle in my legs, core, and upper body.

My heart rate averaged 154 beats per minute which means at times I was really working hard!

X-Country is definitely something I could grow fond of for the added challenge and off-road scenery.  I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I signed up for the race but was pleasantly surprised and thrilled at a new option for running!

Try something new today step outside of what you are comfortable with and enjoy yourself. Life is about challenges and new experiences. A lot of times we don’t do something because we aren’t sure what it is or don’t do it perfectly. No one is perfect – I heard it somewhere that perfect is boring!

Try something new today! Enjoy life!

Build your Body, Balance your Life!

Shannon

About shannonrun

I am the owner/trainer of Fitness Foundations. I love working out and helping others realize and achieve their fitness goals!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment